Culture

Does Instagram Notify Someone If You Like Then Unlike Their Post?

Instagram’s CEO answers one of the app’s most frequently asked questions.

by Micah Avry Guiao

Published on Aug 4, 2026

InstagramIKEA via Canva

An accidental like is one of Instagram’s most dreaded mishaps. One moment you’re scrolling through someone’s profile, and the next, you’ve liked a post from 2018.

You unlike it immediately, maybe even block them for good measure. But one question remains: Did the notification already go through?

ADVERTISEMENT
READ:

Instagram CEO on "Like" Notifications

According to Instagram CEO Adam Mosseri, liking a post can generate two separate alerts: one inside Instagram and another as a push notification on the person’s phone. Unliking the post can remove the notification from inside Instagram—but it won't erase the alert already sent to the other person’s phone.

“When you unlike that photo, we can delete that Instagram notification, but we cannot delete that phone notification. It will still say on their lock screen, ‘Adam liked your photo,’ but if they tap on it, there’s no record of it anywhere in the app, so it might be a little confusing,” Adam explained in a recent video.

This is because anything that happens outside the app is already out of Instagram’s control.

Instagram
Click to Enlarge
Photo: Adobe Stock

That does not necessarily mean they saw it. They may have push notifications turned off, missed the alert, or cleared their notifications without reading them. Unfortunately, there is no way to know for sure.

“If we could delete that phone notification, we would, but we can’t,” Adam said. “Just make sure as you’re scrolling through someone’s content from many, many years ago, that you’re careful not to like anything by mistake.”

This story originally appeared on SPOT.ph. Minor edits have been made by the Preview editors.

Micah Avry Guiao

Read more stories about

syn-00398 ,instagram ,tech ,websites
© 2026 Preview.ph. All Rights Reserved.