StyleBible Preview

25 Cute Bikinis Perfect for Your Next Beach Trip

Get shopping!
25 Cute Bikinis Perfect for Your Next Beach Trip
IMAGE Sandy Cheeks
Get shopping!

The bikini has an interesting history. Its name was coined in 1946 by French engineer and clothing designer Louis Réard, after the then-recent peacetime nuclear tests at Bikini Atoll in the Pacific Ocean. The daring design even came with a slogan: "an anatomic bomb." How appropriate, no?

Waaay more revealing than an already much-scandalized one-piece swimsuit, the bikini was slow to be adopted, and in many countries it was banned from beaches and public places (the Vatican, in fact,  declared it sinful). While still considered risqué, the bikini gradually became a part of popular culture when film stars—the likes of Brigitte Bardot, Raquel Welch, Ursula Andress, Marilyn Monroe—began wearing them on seashores and in films. Remember Carrie Fisher's iconic metal two-piece in 1983's Star Wars hit Return of the Jedi? You have her, among other foxy leading ladies, to thank for helping popularize and normalize those itsy-bitsy, teeny-weeny, not-necessarily-polka-dotted bikinis you love so much. Well, them and the post-World War II fabric shortage.

Whew! That's a good chunk of fashion history for you. Now, it's time you get shopping! Below, 25 of our top picks to guarantee you'll sizzle in this summer's impending heat.

IMAGE Eighth Mermaid

Eighth Mermaid Rio x Parker bikini, P1800, eighthmermaid.com

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/boomsason

Boom Sason Kennie bikini, price available upon request, boomsason.com

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/cesaph

Cesa PH Holly pompom bikini, P1980, cesaph.com

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/cesaph

Cesa PH Sta. Cruz knot bikini, P1880, cesaph.com

IMAGE zalora.com.ph

Chase Fashion Cely flounced bikini, P2350, zalora.com.ph

IMAGE Etam

Etam Camille bikini, P2135, SM Aura

IMAGE Etam

Etam Chloe bikini, P2135, SM Aura

IMAGE floatswimwear.com

Float Swimwear Isla bikini, P1200, floatswimwear.com

IMAGE floatswimwear.com

Float Swimwear Clemence ruffle bikini, P2300, floatswimwear.com

IMAGE zalora.com.ph

Kats Clothing China bikini, P400, zalora.com.ph

IMAGE zalora.com.ph

Longboard Watercolor bikini, P1198, zalora.com.ph

IMAGE Neon Island

Neon Island Sicily bandaeu set, P1599, neon-island.myshopify.com

IMAGE nudoswimwear.com.ph

Nudo Swimwear Scallop mid-rise bikini, P1450, nudoswimwear.com.ph

IMAGE River Island

River Island Orange floral bikini, P1750, SM Aura

IMAGE River Island

River Island Off-shoulder bandage bikini, P1850, SM Aura

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/saltswim_

Salt Swimwear Kaleidoscope bikini, P1300, SaltSwim

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/wear_sandycheeks

Sandy Cheeks Electric Ray bikini, price available upon request, instagram.com/wear_sandycheeks

IMAGE zalora.com.ph

Shapes & Curves Floral bikini, P899, zalora.com.ph

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

IMAGE zalora.com.ph

Shapes & Curves Racerback bikini, P899, zalora.com.ph

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/soakswimwear

Soak Swimwear Sol crop set, P1680, soakswimwear.com

IMAGE Topshop

Topshop Sprinkles bandeau bikini, P1995, SM Aura

IMAGE Topshop

Topshop Velvet bikini, P2295, SM Aura

IMAGE INSTAGRAM/wear_sandycheeks

Sandy Cheeks Cheerios bikini, P1300, instagram.com/wear_sandycheeks

IMAGE wearsundae.com

Sundae Swimwear Kayla metallic bikini, P1900, wearsundae.com

IMAGE wearsundae.com

Sundae Swimwear Nicolette bikini, P2000, wearsundae.com

COMMENTS