StyleBible Preview

5 New Instagram Features You Need to Know

They’re rolling out sooner than you think!
5 New Instagram Features You Need to Know
IMAGE Instagram
They’re rolling out sooner than you think!

Instagram continues to change the way you connect and view photos. The photo-sharing app will be rolling out new features that will bring you closer to your followers and, at the same time, give you more control over your own account. Apart from the zoom feature, here are five more reasons for you to update your Instagram app, stat:

1. Mentions and links on stories

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

IMAGE Instagram

Just like your normal photos on Instagram, you can now tag people on your IG stories, too. When tapped, it links the user to the tagged person’s profile. Meanwhile, the tagged person will also be notified in his Instagram inbox.

Additionally, verified accounts can link sites on their Instagram stories. By swiping up or tapping on the “See More” button, you can access the link right within the app.

2. Comment likes

Instagram adds in a Twitter-like feature where you can “heart” any comments. As Instagram CEO Kevin Systrom says, “Liking lets you show support and encourages positivity throughout the community.”

3. Live stories

Like Facebook, Instagram now lets you go live for about an hour. Your friends will get a notification so they can tune in. You can even pin a comment for everyone to see, let your friends comment, or turn it off altogether. This feature will roll out globally over the next few weeks.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

4. Disappearing photos

Reminiscent of Snapchat, you can send your followers or your group of friends some candid moments via Instagram Direct. Photos and videos you send will disappear once they view it. You can also track if they took a screenshot or replayed it.

5. Remove followers and turn off comments

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

IMAGE Instagram

Determined to keep the app a safe environment, Instagram now lets you turn off the comments section for each post, or you can even include keywords that the app will filter for you. Additionally, if you're on a private account, you can now remove followers as well. Removed users will not be notified about it.

MORE FROM PREVIEW.PH

COMMENTS