StyleBible Preview

Instagram's New Feature Lets You Hide the Posts You Regret Without Deleting Them

Example: Old monthsary pics with your ex!
Instagram's New Feature Lets You Hide the Posts You Regret Without Deleting Them
ILLUSTRATOR Gab Gutierrez
Example: Old monthsary pics with your ex!

If you're an aspiring influencer, or even just an active Instagrammer, the last thing you want to do is to have someone stumble upon your old embarrassing posts. Remember the dark days when your life depended on the Kelvin filter and when you thought it was a good idea to frame your photos with a thick black border? What a nightmare. 

Instagram's newest feature is called "Archive." It lets you hide posts from your followers and the public. This is especially perfect for when you and your boyfriend break up and you just want to have a clean slate (without deleting all the memories). The archive feature allows users to look at the photos privately or restore them to visibility.

TechCrunch reached out to an Instagram spokesperson to ask about the feature. Instagram confirmed, "We're always testing new ways to improve the Instagram experience." 

How it works: Tap the three-dots button ("...") on one of your posts and select. On your profile, at the top right corner, there's an encircled clock icon, which opens your archive where only you can see posts you've hidden. 

IG's rolling the feature out in the next few weeks so it's possible some of you might not have it yet. Sit tight, though! It's coming.

*This story originally appeared on Cosmo.ph. Minor edits have been made by the Preview.ph editors.

MORE FROM PREVIEW.PH

COMMENTS